Shoe #22 – Citizenship Interview

Today was my citizenship interview and I needed to go to Jacksonville for that. My test was at 10:10 AM so if I was going to drive, I probably would have to leave no later than 8 AM. You see, it takes about 1h45min to be there but when I drive, that means 2h or more. So I convinced my hubby to drive me so we could leave later and we would be there probably in 1.5 h. Besides that, we could make of that a short family trip (our daughter would have to go with us once she’s on vacation) and go to Costco for shopping. We love Costco and we miss very much not have one in town here in Gainesville. But it was a big mistake!! Big, huge mistake!! 
First he took a long time to get out of bed, then he ate his breakfast slowly while watching a movie. So we left at 8:30 AM. My goal was to leave no later than 8:15 AM. Then, my daughter started to complain about belly pain and we needed to stop twice and she didn’t do anything. Then when we were 20 min away from the place and the GPS was announcing our arrival at 10:05 AM, when she started coughing and I knew that coughing meant something else. I quickly grabbed a big mug that was in the car and put in front of her. She trow up and her belly pain was in reality an upset stomach. We pulled over and thank God there was a Panera Bread right in front. I run with her there and the poor thing was apologizing for the incident. My heart broke because I was getting really stressed out thinking I was going to miss my test. So while I tried to clean her in the bathroom, hubby tried to clean the car. 
We finally made it and I was 5 min late and smelling like vomit. Great first impression for a future American, no? Thank God again, the interview was very easy, I got all the questions right, my interviewer so very nice and funny and now I’m one step away of being American. I just need to wait for take the oath ceremony to be officially one. 
In the meantime, hubby took her to a Starbucks to try to clean her better and give her some food, considering she had nothing on her stomach. They came to pick me up and we went happily ever after shopping at Costco, where we bought a new outfit and changed her. Then it was my turn to apologize to her for being so nervous while she was sick. 
As you can imagine, I didn’t take pictures before we left home because I was extremely anxious and I thought it would be nice to take pictures in front of the USCIS office. Of course that after the vomit incident, with my shirt half wet (I washed in the bathroom of the office right after my interview was done), and a very smelly child in the car, I didn’t feel like it. 
So forgive me if I look miserable in the pictures. We got in home and after unload the car and put everything in place, I really didn’t want to take pictures but I really want to be in this week round of the Shoe Challenge  so I did. Here they are:

WHAT: Hawaiian woden flip flops (bought in a souvenir store in Kona, Big Island on my first visit to Hawaii)
WHEN: Thursday, July 28th
WHERE: Citizenship interview in Jacksonville
WITH: Skirt from Lapis (bought at Nordstrom Rack), white tank top from Old Navy, earrings from Brasil, Bulova watch, good luck charms necklace handmade by a friend, grandfather’s graduation ring.

UPDATE: so while I was changing my daughter in the bathroom, hubby bought a pair of earring that I had spotted right when we walked inside Costco and he surprised me with it on our way home. I think I can’t say it was a big mistake bringing him along on the trip anymore!

3 thoughts on “Shoe #22 – Citizenship Interview

  1. That was a real adventure! I'm amazed! Your outfit looks so nice and comfortable, and I loved the new earrings!I hope you can soon think of interviews as a past thing…! When do you think you will have your citizenship?What about this week… one more round! I have already saved 2 pairs! 🙂 Waiting to see you there!And congratulations for the interview!

    • I just change the blog to wordpress. About the citizenship, the guy said there’s a cerimony on Aug 18th but he wasn’t sure if they were going to be able to fit me on that one. If not, I heard the next one is in 3 month.

Leave a Reply

